Research Links
To log into the databases from home, visit the Library Database Passwords spreadsheet and use the usernames and passwords listed there.
- ABC CLIO: World Geography: Understanding a Changing WorldUse this subscription database to find cultural information about your country. Cite as an Online Database and it is original content.
- Culturegrams: World EditionClick "generate citation" to get a citation you may copy and paste. This is a database with original content.
- Gale Virtual Reference LibraryCite as an online database, and a reference source, like an encyclopedia or dictionary.
- Encyclopedia - Britannica Online EncyclopediaA great encyclopedia, this source also links to good websites. Cite as an Online Database.
- Discovery EducationVisit the Library Database Passwords spreadsheet to log in to this resource for videos.
- Britannica Image QuestCite this as an image using NoodleTools.
Types of Notes
You'll be taking notes from your sources in order to add realistic details to your story. To keep them organized, think about taking notes from these main subject areas. Check the box at the top right of this page to see how to organize your notes in NoodleTools.
Religion
Politics
Background details/info
Art/Architecture
Food
Etiquette
Traditions
History
Home/Family Environment
5 Senses
Geography
"State of the Place," etc.
Taking Notes with NoodleTools
1. Use the "Notecards" feature of NoodleTools to organize your notes.
2. Create a new project, and use MLA as the citation style and Junior as the level.
3. You don't have to fill in every box on the notecard! Use one notecard for a quote, idea, or item you'd like to include in your story.
4. Make sure to use the "Source" field to link your notecard with a source in your bibliography. That way you avoid plagiarism.
5. Title your notecards according to what type of note you're taking (Religion, Politics, Background Details, Art/Architecture, Food, Etiquette, Traditions, History, Home/Family Environment, 5 Senses, Geography, "State of Place.") Because you can't have two notecards with the same title, title one "Food 1" and the next food note "Food 2" and so on.
6. By dragging all of your "Food" notecards on top of each other, you can put your notecards on specific topics in piles. This will help you organize your notes.
7. Don't forget to share your project with your teacher.

Loading...
