This is the "Starting Out and Citing" page of the "NoodleTools for Creating Works Cited, Notecards, and Outlines" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

NoodleTools for Creating Works Cited, Notecards, and Outlines   Tags: 10th, 11th, 12th, 8th, 9th, citing, noodletools  

Learn to cite sources, develop notecards, and create an outline of your work using NoodleTools.
Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014 URL: http://bwscampus.libguides.com/NoodleTools Print Guide RSS Updates

Starting Out and Citing Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Why Cite?

  • Give Credit to the Author or Creator
  • Locate Sources
  • Avoid Plagiarism
  • Stay Organized
 

Class Assignment / Rubric

  • All your sources are correctly cited and your list includes an appropriate range of relevant online and print sources.
  • Notecards about your sources are well organized, and they identify key points both in the author's quote and your assignment.
  • The notecards show you understand the author's meaning and/or you ask thoughtful questions.
  • Your outline's topic demonstrates original thinking, is well organized, and is relevant to your assignment.

How do I...?

  • NoodleTools User's Guide
    Find answers to all of your NoodleTools questions here.
  • NoodleTools Citation Knowledge Base
    How do I cite a journal? A blog? An article from a library subscription database? Check the knowledge base.
  • Show Me
    NoodleTools experts walk you through how to evaluate and cite different types of sources in all 3 levels!
 

Logging in to NoodleTools

Log in: NoodleTools

  • Create a personal ID, using your school login and password.
       Please do fill out graduation year, initials, and phone number information asked for.
  • If NoodleTools asks for the school authenication information, the ID is brentwood and you may get the password from Ms. Abarbanel.
  • To start a new project, find the Create a New Project button on the right side of the screen.
  • If you are in 7th grade, choose MLA Junior. Otherwise, choose MLA Advanced.
  • Give your project a name.
  • Click Bibliography to start your works cited.
 

Seniors Share: Why Cite?

 

Citing Basics

 

One of the keys to citing correctly is knowing what it is you are citing. Are you citing from a database with original content (ABC CLIO, Britannica), with reprinted reference book information (Gale Virtual Reference Library and others), from a magazine, journal (JStor is all journals), newspaper (ProQuest Histprical Newspapers), website? How can you tell?

The databases provide clues in their citations, no matter what style they are using.

If the information from the database includes:

  • a date of publication as a year and includes a publisher, it is most likely a book or reference source. Reference Sources Include anything with the words Encyclopedia or Dictionary in the title.
  • a full date of publication, including day, month, and year, it is most likely a newspaper. Also if the title of the source has the words Post, Times, or the name of a city in it, it is probably a newspaper.
  • a season and a year indicates it is probably a journal.
  • a month and a year indicates it might be a magazine or journal. Sometimes magazines have complete dates too.
  • When in doubt, Google the name of the source!

Ms. Abarbanel

Profile Image
Elisabeth Abarbanel
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
310-889-2633
Send Email
My favorite books are:
Everything is Illuminated and Jane Eyre
My favorite Brentwood tradition is:
Acoustic Fridays!
I started working at Brentwood in:
1997
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip